This year the Spring Racing Carnival, Australia’s most prestigious thoroughbred horse racing festival, will be celebrating 25 years of international participation. Irish trainer Dermot Weld paved the way for the globalisation of the Spring Racing Carnival when he saddled Vintage Crop to glory in the 1993 Melbourne Cup, known in Australia as ‘the race that stops a nation’. It is now hard to imagine the Spring Racing Carnival without the annual descent of overseas visitor.

There have been 227 international competitors since 1993, which includes 31 winning horses, 37 race wins and $60.9 million in total prizemoney won

Vintage Crop and Dermot Weld were the first internationals to win the Melbourne Cup in 1993

Dunaden (FRA) is the only international horse to win both the Melbourne and Caulfield Cups

Seven international horses have won the Melbourne Cup

Four international horses have won the Caulfield Cup

Only one international horse has won the Cox Plate, the Aidan O'Brien-trained Adelaide in 2014

In 2017, Joseph O’Brien (IRE) became the youngest trainer to ever win the Melbourne Cup, at the tender age of 24

The Werribee International Horse Centre is the home away from home for internationals competing across the Spring Racing Carnival. International horses are due to arrive on the following dates:
Saturday, 8 September: Three Godolphin horses – Jungle Cat, Blair House and Folkswood – are due to land in Melbourne
Saturday, 29 September: First main shipment of internationals arrives
Saturday, 13 October: Second main shipment of internationals arrives

{{ videoTitle }}